2019 AgriFutures™ Horizon Scholarship “next gen” winners announced


  • Share on LinkedIn
  • Share via Email
  • Share Link
  • Print
Students sitting around a table

AgriFutures Australia is pleased to announce the recipients of its Horizon Scholarship. Twelve young people from across Australia are recognised for their talent and commitment to the future of agriculture.

The scholarship provides $10,000 over two years to assist with study and living expenses for the final two years of the students’ agricultural related degree. On top of the bursary, students also receive professional development workshops and work placements to kick start their career in agriculture, access to industry leaders, and opportunities to network and gain knowledge at a range of industry events.

2019 AgriFutures Horizon Scholarship recipients:

Anna Drake
Beecroft NSW | University of Sydney| Sponsor GRDC

Emma Rice
Parkes NSW | University of New England| Sponsor GRDC

Kellie Maybery-Reupert
Oakleigh VIC | Monash University | Sponsor GRDC

Matthew Nevison
Gordon NSW | University of Sydney |Sponsor AgriFutures Australia

Montana Coombes
Melba ACT | Australian National University | Sponsor AgriFutures Australia

Natasha Reading 
Wallaloo East VIC | University of Melbourne | Sponsor MLA

Sacha Pulsford
Hackett ACT | Australian National University | Sponsor AgriFutures Australia

Sophia Thatcher
Armidale NSW | University of New England | Sponsor AgriFutures Australia

Tom Grills
Barwon Heads VIC | University of Melbourne | Sponsor GRDC

William Foster
Ross TAS | University of Melbourne | Sponsor GRDC

Harrison Goy
Harkaway VIC | University of Melbourne | Sponsor Hort Innovation

Mikaela Tilse
Gundy NSW | University of Sydney | Sponsor AgriFutures Australia


“We are thrilled to welcome the 2019 winners, selected from a talented pool of more than 130 applicants. We have hand-picked these young people because of their vision and commitment to the ever changing world of agriculture.”AgriFutures Australia Managing Director, John Harvey congratulated the twelve students on their success and welcomed them to the AgriFutures™ Horizon Scholarship program.

Mr Harvey said the scholarship program gives students extraordinary opportunities.

“We pair them with industry sponsors which gives the students unprecedented access to the decision makers in agriculture. They will learn life skills such as relationship building, networking and the power of collaboration in our tech savvy, start-up world.”

Mr Harvey also paid tribute to new and returning Horizon sponsors and acknowledged their significant contribution to the program, particularly in offering valuable exposure to the agricultural sector.

“Our sponsors provide the scholarship winners with hands-on work placements so they can be part of the innovations taking place in global markets,” said Mr Harvey.

 2019 AgriFutures™ Horizon Scholarship sponsors include Hort Innovation, Australian Eggs, Australian Wool Innovation (AWI), Dairy Australia, Grains Research & Development Corporation (GRDC), Meat & Livestock Australia (MLA), Westpac, Cotton Research & Development Corporation (CRDC), AgriFutures™ Chicken Meat Program, McGaughey Memorial Institute & AgriFutures Rice Extension Program and AgriFutures Australia.

The successful recipients will begin their journey by attending a four day workshop in July focused on leadership and personal development.

This year’s workshop will be in Adelaide and features special guest speakers, industry experts, field trips and the opportunity to network, meet sponsors and discuss innovations and challenges in the agricultural sector. ENDS

For more information: www.agrifutures.com.au/horizon


Latest News

  • 15.04.24

    ‘George the Farmer’ founder Simone Kain talks Bluey, staying motivated and what she’s doing now


    A superfood renaissance down under: AgriFutures Australia announces new research plan for the quinoa industry

  • 05.04.24

    Belle Binder wins Tasmanian AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award

  • 04.04.24

    Tanya Egerton wins Northern Territory AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award