Country to Canberra Power Trip


  • Share on LinkedIn
  • Share via Email
  • Share Link
  • Print

It’s a power trip with a difference.

Eighteen young women, winners of the Country to Canberra’s Leadership Competition, will meet influential politicians and CEOs in the nation’s capital next month.

The winners – from every state and territory – will be rewarded for their ideas about diversity and leadership, Country to Canberra CEO Hannah Wandel explained.

“We continue to be impressed by the innovative thinking and bold ideas of young women. Now in our sixth year of the Power Trip prize, the quality of winners was higher than ever,” Ms Wandel said.

“These girls now get to represent their communities and advocate side-by-side with decision-makers in Canberra.”

The Power Trip, includes a Powerful Women’s Breakfast at the Hyatt Hotel, meetings with federal ministers, a careers fair, a tour of Parliament, leadership and public speaking training, Question Time and more.

“It’s all about empowering rural girls to reach their leadership potential, by combating both gender and geographical barriers to success,” Ms Wandel said.

Imogen McDonald, a 16-year-old from Inverell in NSW, is keen to do her hometown proud.

“I’m honoured to represent my community and advocate on all the issues I am passionate about,” Ms McDonald said.

Northern Territorian Tahli Stimpson is keen to build her skills.

“I can’t wait to hear from inspiring female leaders, especially on issues like gender equality,” the 16-year-old from Nhulunbuy said.

Country to Canberra is a nationwide not-for-profit empowering young rural women to reach their leadership potential.

The 18 winners selected from the 2019 Leadership Competition are:

  • Jessica Larter of Tumut NSW
  • Jessica Bennett of Orange NSW
  • Imogen McDonald of Inverell NSW
  • Siena Bordignon of Coffs Harbour NSW
  • Lucy Bourchier or Koonoomoo VIC
  • Anna Scott of Inverloch VIC
  • Eliza Lyall of Almaden QLD
  • Kara Trimble of Mareeba QLD
  • Jasmine Thompson of Charters Towers QLD
  • Heather Proud of Roma QLD
  • Sienna Putland of Parndana SA
  • Bethany Castle of Kingston SE in SA
  • Jaimee Whirledge of Busselton WA
  • Kyla Ramos of Harvey WA
  • Tahli Stimpson of Nhulunbuy NT
  • Ianna Lalim of Katherine NT
  • Freya Cooper of Mayberry TAS
  • Maggie Sheehan of Ulverstone TAS

The Power Trip will run from November 23-27. Learn more about the winners and top 40 here

Latest News

  • RICE / 20.05.24

    Practical digital agronomy tools boost productivity for rice growers

  • 16.05.24

    AgriFutures 2024 Horizon Scholarship cohort announced

  • 14.05.24

    Don’t Miss Out! Early Bird Tickets Now on Sale for the 2024 AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award Gala Dinner & National Announcement


    Industrial Hemp and Sesame trial sites open for inspection in northern Australia