2020 Australian Farmer of the Year Awards now open


  • Share on LinkedIn
  • Share via Email
  • Share Link
  • Print
2020 Australian Farmer of the Year Awards logo

The Australian Farmer of the Year Awards are designed to celebrate and applaud the outstanding achievements of those individuals and families making a significant contribution to Australian agriculture. AgriFutures Australia is once again, proud to support the Awards, and encourages emerging agricultural leaders to apply for the Agricultural Student of the Year Award.

Kondinin Group and ABC Rural have announced nominations for the 2020 Australian Farmer of the Year Awards are now open.

Nominations can be completed online at www.farmeroftheyear.com.au and close 24 May 2020.

Ben White, General Manager of Research at Kondinin Group, said that while the last 12 months have been a challenge for some of our farming communities, the Awards offer an opportunity to acknowledge the resilient and enduring spirit of rural and regional Australia.

“Farming is an industry full of highs and lows. It’s the never-give-up attitude, the striving for the best outcome we can achieve, that keeps us going and focused on the future,” said Mr White.

This was clearly demonstrated by 2019 winners Sue and Gerard Daly, who operate an innovative and successful farming model, despite being impacted at the beginning of 2013 by the Dunalley bushfires.

The Tasmanian potato farmers were also the recipients of the 2019 Award for Excellence in Innovation.

“The Daly’s won the 2019 Australian Farmers of the Year because of their focus on sustainable farming and their family’s innovative approach to reducing food waste,” said Mr White.

“They are an inspiration and are a shining example of that incredible resilient attitude we celebrate through the Awards.”


AgriFutures Australia are thrilled to announce our support and involvement in the Awards as sponsor of the Agricultural Student of the Year Award.

This Award looks to seek out those studying an agricultural field who are excelling in those studies; demonstrating an enthusiasm for learning, a thorough understanding of the Australian agricultural industry, empathy for primary producers and a commitment to rural and regional Australia.

The Kondinin Group and ABC Rural 2020 Australian Farmer of the Year Awards are supported by Platinum Sponsors WFI; Award Sponsors McDonalds, Corteva, AgriFutures Australia, Telstra and New Holland; Leadership Program supporter the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources; Media Partner RM William’s OUTback; and Industry Supporters the National Farmers’ Federation, AgSafe, Goldacres and Blundstone.

2020 Award categories include:

  • Australian Farmer of the Year
  • Young Farmer of the Year, sponsored by McDonald’s Australia
  • Farming Legend of the Year
  • Community Leader of the Year
  • Rural Consultant of the Year, sponsored by Corteva Agriscience
  • Agricultural Student of the Year, sponsored by AgriFutures Australia
  • Award for Excellence in Innovation, sponsored by Telstra
  • Award for Excellence in Technology, sponsored by New Holland
  • Award for Excellence in Diversification
  • Award for Excellence in Agricultural Research

Latest News

  • 15.04.24

    ‘George the Farmer’ founder Simone Kain talks Bluey, staying motivated and what she’s doing now


    A superfood renaissance down under: AgriFutures Australia announces new research plan for the quinoa industry

  • 05.04.24

    Belle Binder wins Tasmanian AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award

  • 04.04.24

    Tanya Egerton wins Northern Territory AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award